2010 Grand National

The 2010 Grand National is, unbelievably, the 163rd time the event has been held, which goes to show how steeped in tradition it is.  Commencing on the 10th of April 2010, the race was again sponsored by John Smith.

Tony McCoy, the racing maverick who gave bookmakers sleepless nights throughout his career, finally clinched the coveted National crown riding¬† Don’t Push It. Winning by just over five lengths, McCoy successfully resisted the steadily pursuing Black Apalachi who came 2nd and State of the Play who finished 3rd.

Having been significantly backed down a few minutes before the race, McCoy saw his initial 20-1 odds reduced to 10-1`joint-favorite.

The 2010 Grand National drew a huge crowd that stood at 70,000+. More than 150,000 headed to the racecourse over the length of the 3-day meet. The impressive turnout stats make the 2010 event the most well-attended since 2005, when a slightly bigger throng filled Aintree Racecourse.

The following is a list of the top five positions in the 2010 Grand National: First – Don’t Push It/Tony McCoy, the second prize was claimed by Black Apalachi/ Dennis O’Regan, third-position were State of the Play/Paul Moloney. The fourth and fifth positions were occupied by Big Fella Thanks/Barry Geraghty and Hello Bud/Sam Twiston-Davis.


Leave a Reply