2010 Grand National  The 2010 Grand National is, unbelievably, the 163rd time the event has been held, which goes to show how steeped in tradition it is.  Commencing on the 10th of April 2010, the race was again sponsored by John Smith.

Tony McCoy, the racing maverick who gave bookmakers sleepless nights throughout his career, finally clinched the coveted National crown riding  Don’t Push It. Winning by just over five lengths, McCoy successfully resisted the steadily pursuing Black Apalachi who came 2nd and State of the Play who finished 3rd.

Having been significantly backed down a few minutes before the race, McCoy saw his initial 20-1 odds reduced to 10-1`joint-favorite.

The 2010 Grand National drew a huge crowd that stood at 70,000+. More than 150,000 headed to the racecourse over the length of the 3-day meet. The impressive turnout stats make the 2010 event the most well-attended since 2005, when a slightly bigger throng filled Aintree Racecourse.

The following is a list of the top five positions in the 2010 Grand National: First – Don’t Push It/Tony McCoy, the second prize was claimed by Black Apalachi/ Dennis O’Regan, third-position were State of the Play/Paul Moloney. The fourth and fifth positions were occupied by Big Fella Thanks/Barry Geraghty and Hello Bud/Sam Twiston-Davis.


2009 Grand National  The 2009 Grand National racing meet took place on 4 April 2009 at Aintree Racecourse, England. The 2009 Grand National champion was a long-shot 100/1 outsider Mon Mome – ridden by jockey Liam Treadwell who won the race by a significant 12 lengths and in a time of 9 minutes and 34 seconds. Mon Mome was the very first 100/1 shot to win the race since Foinavon in 1967.

The gallant winner became the first French-bred mount to clinch a Grand National title in more than 100 years. Mon Mome was trained by Venetia Williams at her Herefordshire facility. The proud owner of the victorious horse was Vida Bingham, a little-known breeder from East Sussex.

Only 17 racers completed the course (that measured 4 miles and 4 furlongs) and unfortunately, an ill-fated runner dubbed Hear the Echo collapsed and subsequently died shortly during the Antree National. One of the few jockeys to maintain a good ‘track record’ in two consecutive Grand Nationals, Timmy Murphy’s Comply or Die, the 2008 winner, came second in the 2009 race.

Terrestrial Television aired the Grand National proceedings. The event was widely watched on the BBC, which is sommon especially when big sporing competitions are broadcast live.

Bookmakers were happy that a scarcely anticipated champion had grabbed the jackpot. In the words of Ladbroke’s spokesperson David Williams, a Ruby Walsh’s or Tony McCoy’s victory would have turned the tables way totally. It was a once-in-a-blue-moon boom for scores of betting entities; all thanks to Treadwell’s unlikely success.

2008 Grand National  The 2008 Grand National took place at Aintree Racecourse in England, on 5 April 2008 and offer combined prize money of around £450,000, a marked drop from previous years.

The 2008 Grand National winner was the longstanding joint-favorite Comply or Die, ridden by gifted and success-focused Irish jockey – Timmy Murphy. Murphy was well known for wanting a National win and so winning here was the realisation of a dream.

Timmy Murphy finihed the race four lengths ahead of the hotly pursuing King John’s Castle who finished second, and the similarly unrelenting chaser – Snowing Morning steered by David Casey. The first three slots were thus occupied by Comply or Die/Timmy Murphy, Kings John’s Castle/ Paul Carberry, Snowy Morning/David Casey.

Timmy Murphy’s victorious horse was owned by David Johnson, a prominent English stable owner and equestrian investor. The trainer was David Pipe.

Most interestingly a total of three riders were marking their thirteenth run. These included Mick Fitzgerald who had won the same title in 1996 riding Rough Quest, Paul Carberry who had achieved top honors in 1999 atop Bobbyjo and also the trailblazing racetrack sensation Tony McCoy.

Richard Dunwoody, a once terrific racer himself, acted as the guest presenter for the BBC coverage. Jim McGrath, the profoundly skilled and experienced veteran commentator wowed millions of anxious watchers, as his trademark thundering beckoned the winner home – for the eleventh consecutive Grand National.

2007 Grand National  The 2007 Grand National steeplechase was the 160th formal repeat of this globally followed event. As usual it was held at the Aintree racecourse in the UK and this year attracted 70,000+ to the racecourse.

The race was won by the 33/1 shot Silver Birch ridden by the inimitable Robbie Power. £400,000 of the £700,000 prize money went to the winner. It’s a substantial win for a horse that won by 3/4 of a length.

The 2007 Grand National registered a few letdowns such as when initially promising stars such as the 8/1 joint-favorite Point Barrow fizzled out at the 1st fence. Other notable occupiers of the top 7 places included McKelvery, Slim Pickings, Philson Run, Libertine, Numbersixvalveverde, and Longshanks. There’s certainly a few surprises

The owner – trainer – winner combo was one of the youngest in history (Jockey Robbie Power was 25, the trainer was the youngest in the race and so on) , but it mattered not a jot. ‘Older and wiser’ doesn’t always win the day.